Medicine Curriculum Development Committee

Sub-committee of the Faculty Education Committee.

Also see: sub-committees of the Medicine Curriculum Development Committee


The minutes and documents for this committee are located on SharePoint. Access to the SharePoint site is for members or approved support staff only.


Membership is usually for a period of two years. The Chair of the committee will be invited to become a member of the Faculty Academic Committee.


  • Program Authority Medicine


  • Chairs or nominees of the following
    • Phase 1 Committee
    • Phase 2 Committee
    • Phase 3 Committee
    • Clinical Learning and Assessment Committee
    • Independent Learning Project Committee
    • Program Evaluation and Improvement Group
    • Assessment Working Group
    • Admissions and Re-enrolment Committee
  • Invited members (to be determined by CDC)image - Curriculum Development Committee
    • Prince of Wales Clinical School
    • Rural Clinical School
    • School of Medical Sciences
    • School of Psychiatry
    • School of Public Health and Community Medicine
    • School of Women's and Children's Health
    • South Western Sydney Clinical School
    • St Vincent's Clinical School
    • Medicine Education & Student Office
  • Undergraduate Student Representatives
    • Various

Administrative Support

  • Medicine Education and Student Office

Terms of Reference and Responsibilities

The Medicine Curriculum Development Committee (CDC) is the coordinating body for development of the Medicine program at UNSW. It develops policy and considers proposals recommended by the Phase Committees, the sub-committees of CDC and curriculum working parties, and presents these to Faculty Academic Committee, the Dean and Faculty Standing Committee for consideration. The membership evolves in response to changes to working parties during ongoing development of the program.

Frequency of Meetings

Approximately every 4 weeks for 1 and a half hours, averaging ~10 meetings per year.

Structure and Review

The term of membership for each category of member is usually for 2 years. The composition of the Committee may be reviewed if new working parties or other bodies involved in developing and/or oversight of the curriculum are established.